ECSS Founding Members are individuals who participated in the founding meeting of the ECSS in Nice, France on February 11th of 1995. 

Founding Members

  • Prof. Henrique Barreiros, POR
  • Prof. Jean Camy, FRA
  • Prof. Lars-Magnus Engström, SWE (deceased)
  • Prof. Marcel Hebbelinck, BEL
  • Prof. Vassiis Klissouras, GRE
  • Prof. Paavo V. Komi, FIN (deceased)
  • Prof. Jean Rene Lacour, FRA
  • Prof. Pierre Marconnet, FRA
  • Dr. Giulio Marinozzi, ITA (deceased)
  • Prof. Joachim Mester, GER
  • Prof. Thomas Reilly, GRB (deceased)
  • Prof. Bengt Saltin, SWE (deceased)
  • Prof. Anthony Sargeant, GBR
  • Prof. Risto Telama, FIN

ECSS Honorary Members shall be appointed by the Executive Board on the basis of significant contributions to sport science and/or the work and objectives of the ECSS.

Honorary Members

  • Mr. Spyros Pappas, BEL
  • Dr. Sylvie Chartron, FRA
  • Prof. Hugues Monod, FRA
  • Prof. Ommo Grupe, GER (deceased)
  • Dr. Walfried König, GER
  • Prof. Matti J. Karvonen, ITA (deceased)
  • Prof. Per-Olof Astrand, SWE (deceased)
  • Prof. Erik Hohwy-Christensen, SWE (deceased)
  • Dr. E. Maureen S. Edmondson, GBR
  • Prof. H.T.A. Whiting, GBR
  • Mr. William Fry, USA
  • Dr. Gerard King, GER
  • Mr. Tom Delaveaux, GER

All Founding and Honorary Members have a lifelong ECSS membership and free registration to the annual congress of the European College of Sport Science.


Join an international community of scientists with similar interests and goals and get access to a wide range of useful benefits and services to boost your career in sport science.
ECSS Glasgow 2024 is now open for proposal submissions for plenary sessions and invited symposia until 10 November 2023. Put your impressive work in the spotlight!


European College of Sport Science

Am Sportpark Müngersdorf 6
50933 Cologne Germany

Phone: +49 221 9626 2771



Copyright © 2023 by the European College of Sport Science. All rights reserved.
The ECSS is a non profit organisation, dedicated to Sport Science.

Supported by SporTools GmbH