Home About us

Founding and Honorary Members

ECSS Founding Members are individuals who participated in the founding meeting of the ECSS in Nice, France on February 11th of 1995.

Founding Members are

  • Prof. Henrique Barreiros, POR
  • Prof. Jean Camy, FRA
  • Prof. Lars-Magnus Engström, SWE
  • Prof. Marcel Hebbelinck, BEL
  • Prof. Vassiis Klissouras, GRE
  • Prof. Paavo V. Komi, FIN
  • Prof. Jean Rene Lacour, FRA
  • Prof. Pierre Marconnet, FRA
  • Prof. Joachim Mester, GER
  • Prof. Bengt Saltin, DEN
  • Prof. Anthony Sargeant, GBR
  • Prof. Risto Telama, FIN


ECSS Honourary Members shall be appointed by the Executive Board on the basis of significant contributions to sport science and/or the work and objectives of the ECSS.

Honorary Members are

  • Mr. Spyros Pappas, BEL
  • Dr. Sylvie Chartron, FRA
  • Prof. Hugues Monod, FRA
  • Prof. Ommo Grupe, GER
  • Dr. Walfried König, GER
  • Prof. Matti J. Karvonen, ITA
  • Prof. Per-Olof Astrand, SWE
  • Prof. Erik Hohwy-Christensen, SWE
  • Dr. E. Maureen S. Edmondson, GBR
  • Prof. H.T.A. Whiting, GBR
  • Mr. William Fry, USA
  • Dr. Gerard King, GER